Rigger & Signalperson logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

Rigger & Signalperson Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • Crane Institute of America runs this qualification through training sessions, so your "exam date" is the date of the class you enroll in.
  • Full qualification needs training, two years of documented rigging/lifting experience, a written exam and a practical signaling exam.
  • Below two years of experience, a trainee qualification is available, so you can still test and work toward full status.
  • Renewal costs USD 495, produces a card valid for three years, and the online option allows ten days to finish.

Why There Is No Fixed Exam Calendar

Search for "Rigger & Signalperson exam dates 2026" and you will probably hope to find a neat table of testing windows, application deadlines and score-release dates. That is how many professional licensing exams work, but it is not how this qualification works. The credential in question is the CIA Rigger/Signalperson Qualification, offered by the Crane Institute of America (CIA) as a journeyman-level training and qualification program. It is delivered around training courses, and the exam components are taken as part of that program rather than during a nationwide testing season.

That distinction changes how you plan. Instead of asking "when is the next testing window," the better question is "when is the next qualification course I can attend, and am I eligible to finish it?" Course availability varies by location, instructor and host organization, so the authoritative source for any specific 2026 session is the issuer's own program page and registration channel. This article will not invent dates; it will explain how the process is structured so you can interpret whatever schedule you find.

Scope reminder: This guide covers the CIA Rigger/Signalperson Qualification only. It does not cover Crane Institute Certification (CIC) or CCO examinations, which are separate programs with their own processes. If you hold or want a CIC card, CIA directs you to the separate CIC renewal process.

What You Actually Sit For

Before you can pick a sensible date, you need to know what the date is for. Full qualification under this program has four moving parts:

  1. Completion of CIA Qualified Rigger/Signalperson training (the instructional course).
  2. Physical ability to perform rigging tasks safely.
  3. Documentation of at least two years of rigging/lifting experience.
  4. A written examination and a practical signaling examination.

One quirk is worth flagging. The issuer's shorter certification-requirements summary mentions only the written examination, while the detailed qualification requirements explicitly include the practical signaling examination as well. Plan for both. If you walk into a session assuming only a written test, you may be caught off guard by the hands-on signaling component.

For a deeper look at what the written side tests, see our complete guide to all 9 content areas. For the eligibility side, our requirements and prerequisites guide goes further than this article can.

Eligibility Gates That Come Before Any Date

The most common scheduling mistake is booking a course before confirming you can actually complete the qualification. Run through these gates first.

The two-year experience threshold

Full qualification requires documentation of at least two years of rigging/lifting experience. Documentation matters: think employer letters, work records or a supervisor's verification rather than a verbal claim. If your paperwork is not ready, gather it before you enroll, not on exam day.

The trainee pathway

If you are below the experience threshold, CIA offers a trainee qualification. This is the right door for apprentices, new laborers and career-changers who need to start working under supervision while they accumulate hours. The trainee route means you do not have to wait two years before taking any step at all, which can meaningfully shorten the time between "I want to start" and "I hold a card of some kind."

Physical ability

The program requires that you be physically able to perform rigging tasks safely. Because the practical component involves real signaling and rigging activity, you should be realistic about whether you can participate fully on the day.

Eligibility check before you book: Confirm three things in writing before choosing a session: (1) which pathway applies to you, full or trainee, (2) that your experience documentation is ready, and (3) that the session you choose includes both the written and the practical signaling components.

How Scheduling Works in Practice

Because the qualification is course-driven, scheduling follows the course model. Here is how to think about the process without relying on invented specifics.

Open enrollment versus employer-hosted sessions

Many candidates attend a public session; others take the course through an employer, union training center or contractor that hosts an instructor on site. Employer-hosted sessions are often scheduled around project needs, so your "date" may be set by your company's training calendar rather than by your own preference. If you work for a contractor, ask your safety or training manager before registering independently. You may be able to get both the seat and the fee covered.

Lead time

Plan to secure your seat well before you need the card. Classroom-style courses fill, and instructors travel on set routes. If you need the qualification before a project start, work backward from that start date and leave buffer time for a possible reschedule.

Materials

CIA supplies its Rigging Handbook, workbooks, and rigging-safety, capacity and hand-signal reference cards. That means you are not expected to source your own core textbooks, but you should still request or review sample content in advance so the course is not your first exposure to the terminology.

Written Exam vs. Practical Signaling Exam

These two components test different skills, and you should prepare for them differently.

ComponentWhat It TestsHow to Prepare
Written examinationKnowledge of slings, hardware, inspection, standards, load calculation and capacity chartsStudy the handbook, work through practice questions, drill sling-loading methods
Practical signaling examinationAbility to give and read hand signals accurately and safelyRehearse the hand-signal reference card physically, ideally with a partner

The written portion draws on topics the issuer lists in its curriculum, including three methods of calculating sling loading, interpreting capacity charts, estimating load weight, power-line precautions, and the responsibilities of riggers and signalpersons. Candidates often under-prepare the load-calculation material because it feels mathematical; build time for it. Our difficulty guide discusses where candidates tend to struggle, and our passing score article covers what is and is not publicly stated about scoring.

Backward-Planning Your Date by Domain

The issuer's published topics list nine areas. Treat them as an unweighted preparation curriculum rather than official exam domains with percentage allocations. The point of listing them here is to schedule your prep so that the right material is fresh when your session arrives.

Domain 1: Safe use of wire rope, slings, rigging hardware and chain & lever hoists

The foundation of the course. Start here because later domains assume you know the equipment.

  • Match each sling type to appropriate use
  • Understand hardware limits and proper application

Domain 3: Pre-use inspection of wire rope, slings, rigging hardware and chain & lever hoists

Pair this with Domain 1 in the same study block, since inspection criteria are easiest to remember next to the equipment they apply to.

  • Know removal-from-service indicators for each item
  • Practice describing a defect and the correct response

Domain 8: Hand & voice signals

This is the one domain you cannot learn from reading alone, since it feeds directly into the practical signaling exam.

  • Rehearse each signal with the reference card until it is automatic
  • Practice giving signals, not just recognizing them

If your session is roughly four weeks away, a schedule like this works well:

Week 1

Equipment fundamentals

  • Domain 1: wire rope, slings, hardware, chain and lever hoists
  • Domain 3: pre-use inspection of that same equipment
Week 2

Rules and technique

  • Domain 2: OSHA and ASME standards
  • Domain 5: rigging practices and procedures
  • Domain 4: proper use of taglines; Domain 6: knots used in rigging
Week 3

Lift context and calculation

  • Domain 9: basics of crane operation and limitations
  • Domain 7: hoisting personnel
  • Sling-loading calculations and capacity-chart reading
Week 4

Signals and review

  • Domain 8: hand and voice signals, physically rehearsed daily
  • Full practice-question review across all nine areas

For a fuller treatment of how to study each area, see our study guide, and when you want to test yourself, our Rigger & Signalperson practice test lets you drill by topic.

Renewal Windows and the Three-Year Card

Successful completion of renewal produces a card valid for three years. That gives you a concrete date to put on your calendar: three years after your card is issued, you will need to renew to stay current. Work the date backward so renewal does not collide with a busy project season.

CIA's recertification policy offers two paths, both priced at USD 495:

OptionDeliveryTime Commitment
Online renewal exerciseDelivered through myTestcom.netTen days allowed to complete after initiation; usually four to five hours of work
Instructor-led recertificationZoom or in person at Sanford, FloridaTwo four-hour instructional blocks plus a one-hour lunch break
Don't confuse renewal with initial testing: The ten-day completion window and the four-to-five-hour estimate belong to the online renewal exercise. They are not time limits for the initial written exam, and USD 495 is a renewal price, not an initial examination fee. Quoting those numbers as "exam length" or "exam cost" is a common error on forums.

The online option suits people with unpredictable schedules, since the ten-day window absorbs a lost shift or two. The instructor-led option suits people who learn better in a room, want to ask questions in real time, or prefer a fixed block on the calendar. If you hold a CIC card instead, do not use this renewal path; CIA sends CIC holders to a separate process.

Fees and Timing Facts Worth Knowing

The only price CIA's published materials give for this qualification is the USD 495 renewal figure. An initial-qualification fee is not stated in the material this article relies on, so confirm the current course price directly when you register. Course fees often cover the training, handbook, workbooks and reference cards, but verify what your specific registration includes. For a framework on budgeting, read our certification cost breakdown, and for the bigger picture on payoff, our ROI analysis.

One practical timing point: if your employer is paying, get approval and the purchase order sorted before the session date. A seat can be lost over paperwork delays, which is a far more common cause of missed dates than any exam-side rule.

Timing Around Jobs and Project Starts

Demand for qualified riggers and signalpersons comes from the places you would expect: construction contractors, crane rental and rigging companies, industrial plants, utilities, steel erectors, shipyards and similar operations where loads are lifted regularly. Hiring is often project-driven, which makes timing matter. Many employers would rather bring on someone who already holds a valid qualification card than absorb the delay of getting a new hire trained.

That has two scheduling implications. First, if you are job hunting, completing the qualification before applications go out strengthens your position, and the trainee route makes that possible even if you lack two years of experience. Second, if you are already employed, ask whether your company has a standing training arrangement; piggybacking on an existing session is often the fastest path to a date. See our overview of rigger and signalperson jobs and our salary guide for how the qualification fits into career planning.

Key Takeaway

Treat your "exam date" as the end of a short pipeline: confirm your pathway (full or trainee), assemble experience documentation, secure a seat in a session that includes both the written and practical signaling components, and work your domain review backward from that date, with hand signals rehearsed physically rather than only read.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a fixed national testing window for the Rigger & Signalperson qualification?

The CIA Rigger/Signalperson Qualification is delivered through training and qualification sessions rather than a single fixed national calendar. Your date is the date of the session you enroll in, so check the Crane Institute of America's program page or your employer's training schedule for availability.

Do I need two years of experience before I can take part?

Full qualification requires documentation of at least two years of rigging/lifting experience. If you are below that threshold, CIA offers a trainee qualification, so you can begin the process and build toward full qualification as you gain experience.

Will I take a practical test as well as a written one?

Yes. The detailed qualification requirements include both a written examination and a practical signaling examination, even though a shorter summary on the issuer's page mentions only the written test. Prepare for both, and rehearse hand signals physically.

How long is the qualification card valid, and what does renewal cost?

Successful renewal produces a card valid for three years. CIA lists USD 495 for either the online renewal exercise or the instructor-led recertification. The online exercise runs through myTestcom.net with ten days to finish; the instructor-led option is two four-hour blocks by Zoom or in Sanford, Florida.

Does the four-to-five-hour figure mean the initial written exam is that long?

No. That duration describes the online renewal exercise, and the instructor-led renewal format has its own structure. Neither is an initial written-exam time limit, so do not use those numbers to plan your first qualification attempt. For what is known about difficulty and results, see our pass rate article.

Ready to pass your Rigger & Signalperson exam?

Put this into practice with free Rigger & Signalperson questions across every exam domain.